Putting the Present in the Past

Have you ever edited something where you decided to change the tense it was written in? This is the first major work I’ve decided to do this for. I’m busy editing my novel, The Devil’s Playground, and when I originally wrote it, it was in first person present tense. I think it’s going to work better in past tense and so now I’m starting to make those initial edits. I’m two chapters in (well technically, one prologue and chapter one) and it’s not proving to be an easy feat. It seems that my brain is getting confused very easily and I’m constantly questioning myself as to whether I’m actually writing the right thing in the right tense at the right point. The thing is, if I was writing this from scratch I know I would have no trouble. I can tell this initial edit is going to be long and probably tedious. If you see me on facebook too much, kick me off please! I need to slog through this so I can move onto the second round of working on plot lines and characters.

So far tonight I’ve hit 1700 words in edits which I think is good for my first go at it. Let’s just hope it keeps up!

Leave a Reply

