Review of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Niki Slobodian, #1)Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by J.L. Murray
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When I picked up this book, I didn’t know what to expect but I was immediately hustled into the world of Niki Slobidian. She is an Abnormal living in a world where Normals persecute those who have abilities and powers seen as unnatural. She’s put on the registry to be watched closely but when a case opens after a Dark is released from a portal to Hell, she regains her normal life back and begins this mission to find out why and how the portal was opened.

This first novel of the series had me intrigued from the beginning. I was drawn to Niki as a very strong, female lead. She was fiercely independent and passionately caring about, Sofi, the woman who brought her up, she knows she must solve the mystery and find out why her dad is involved. It’s very clear there’s a lot of story of Niki that we don’t know yet but I have to say I’m looking forward to finding out.

The novel moved at a very quick pace, full of action and intrigue that kept me guessing and wanting more. I’ll be back for more from this girl!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

