It’s been a while since I posted. Why? I couldn’t tell you. I finished the second round of edits of The Doors and sent that back. Other than that I have been working all hours under the sun while trying to look after my house and deal with some big family issues I have going on. It’s had me pretty stressed and worried.

But, things are looking up. We’re taking a few positive steps today regarding the family issue so that’s a little better. I am full of ill which isn’t great but hey, it happens more in times of stress because other than that I tend to have quite a healthy immune system.

I’m hopefully going to get the novel back within the next few days ready for a final, third edit before it’s polished and ready for publishing. You know, I almost doubled the word count in the last two edits. Doubled! The story is still the same, essentially, but there has been a hell of a lot of development with it. I can hardly believe it myself.

And all the while I find that now when I’m reading I’m picking up on things more, rewriting lines in my head, working out how I would have done it. It means that now when I’m thinking about writing, I’m really considering things I wouldn’t have before including structure and detail. I think that just shows how much I’m growing as a writer.

As most of you know, Nano is coming up in November. That crazy months where thousands of people test their endurance and creativity and knock out a novel in a month. This will be my fourth year of taking part and you know what, I can’t wait. It’s like an addiction. I have some vague ideas of what I’m going to do but using October as a month of prepping means I’ll get my ideas in order ready for the go on the 1st November. I’m also going to try and write an edit plan so that I can go back to my novel and really work on it, ready it for submission and then send it off. I owe it to myself to keep this up now!

I just finished reading the last book in the Experiment in Terror series. Wow, what an ending. I won’t spoil it in case any of you want to read it but it was the perfect conclusion and though I’m going to miss the duo of Perry and Dex, I know Karina Halle is a fantastic author with a lot to give.

After finishing that I’ve starting reading Finding the Way Back by Jill Bisker. It’s been a great read so far and I’m sucked right in! Check it out at:

http://www.melange-books.com/authors/jillbisker/findingthewayback.html

Leave a Reply

