Cathartic Process

It’s taken me a while to come to this decision and I’ve been thinking about it long and hard. For a lot of years I kept a journal. I didn’t write on a regular basis, at least not towards the end, and for the past three years or so I haven’t kept one at all.

When I thought about it, I came to the realisation that I hadn’t kept a journal because I didn’t need to keep a journal. You see, I used my journals as a way to vent. I would sometimes write when I was happy, when I was feeling brilliant, but mostly I found that I was writing when I was sad or upset or angry or lonely.

When I first started writing I thought it would be interesting to go back to them, re-read them when I was a little older perhaps, but now I know that if I read back through those journals it would do nothing but help me relive some of the bad memories I have and I realised how much I don’t want that. My life is good, I’m happy and I don’t want to be reminded of the bad times. Why would I? Sure they’re a part of me but then I moved past them.

So I made the decision that I’m going to burn my journals. I haven’t gotten around to it yet (and the hardest part is knowing that I’ll be burning some of those pretty notebooks) but I’m preparing myself for it. Burning seems a very apt way to go through the process, allowing the paper to become nothing and therefore all of the bad things and memories I have to evaporate with them. I can’t wait to do it.

Do you do something when you need to vent? How do you handle it? What about keeping a journal? Are you a daily journal writer?

Leave a Reply

