Emotional Writing

Something hit me this week while I was writing. If you are a fan of my facebook page you might have noticed that I’ve talked about writing something new this week. I’ve been working on it ever since I woke up from a dream and it’s flowed from my pen (and my fingers to my laptop) with so much ease it’s unbelievable. I’ve loved every minute of it so far and want to keep working on it, maybe once I figure out where I want it to go!

The thing is, while I’ve been writing it, I’ve noticed a certain sort of emotional, and perhaps even physical response. I think I noticed it more because I was working on a genre I don’t normally write and so I guess I reflected on the process a lot more.

What it brought to my attention is that (as it’s a romance sort of genre) that I felt my heart racing along with my main character. I was as excited as she was and a little hot when she realised how much she liked the guy. It got me to thinking… do you experience emotions while you’re working through writing a story? It doesn’t necessarily have to be romance but I write a lot of horror and suspense and come to think of it, I get all that too. I tense up and feel my shoulders tighten, my toes curl and I can’t stop typing. I sometimes type so fast just finding my way through an action scene or something that is so tense, I get lost in the moment.

Getting lost in your story must be a good sign because if you’re lost as the writer it means the likelihood of your reader getting lost is high. What do you think? Do you ever get an exaggerated emotion while you’re writing? Do you react the same way as your main character? Let me hear your thoughts!

2 Comments

  1. This always happens to me! I get extremely caught up in my stories and feel as though I am experiencing everything with the characters.
    This is why I have been working on my Crime/Thriller story for so long … I have to take so many breaks because I end up freaked out and sleeping with the lights on 😛

  2. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! I do scare myself sometimes too depending on what I’m writing. After the dream I had this morning it’s looking to be a gothic story so I’ll not be going anywhere alone in the dark!

Leave a Reply

