Are you a Goal-Oriented Person?

Different people work in different ways. If you’re anything like me then you need to have lists of things to do, lots of ticky boxes that you feel great about crossing out and goals to work towards. If not then perhaps you’re the type of person who likes to wing it and see where it gets you.

I’ve tried both approaches in the past. And I guess it depends what I’m doing. I like to be organised. It helps me keep things in line and know where I’ve got to be and what I’ve got to write for when. However, it doesn’t always go to plan and I think it’s important to know when to step outside the box and wing it along with my counterparts.

Currently, I’m working on a few short stories for submission and I’m starting the edits of a nano novel. So that’s all going well. But in the middle of all of that my brain came up with this ingenious idea. And I couldn’t let it go so I’ve started planning it and while I’m not writing it yet, it won’t be far off. I’ve just gone with the flow of this and those deadlines are still niggling in the back of my mind so I know just when I’ve got to work on something else by.

Being flexible and adaptable is probably a very important to being a creative person. Rigidity is good but so is change and I try to aspire to both. Sometimes it’s hard and sometimes it blows my mind a little trying to stay focused but going with the flow but I’m learning as I go.

Are you goal oriented or do you wing it? Which approach is better for you and how do you go about it?

Leave a Reply

