Work-Writing Balance

I don’t know about you, but I certainly struggle with a work-writing balance on regular basis. However, although I wish I had more time to write, on the other side of things, I actually really love my job so it isn’t too bad, if you know what I mean?

I’m currently a support worker working with homeless people. I work a variety of shifts with a variety of different people and some fantastic colleagues and let me tell you, I love it. No two days are ever the same and boredom is nowhere to be found.

On the other hand, I do wish I had more time to write. After working twelve hour shifts it’s the last thing I want to do and when I have my few days off, I have to catch up on all that grown-up normalcy stuff including house work, seeing my partner (haha) and family and friends. Needless to say, with that all said and done, it doesn’t leave a lot of time for writing.

I do get frustrated sometimes if I want to write and I can’t. It does happen a lot and it gets to a point where something is on my mind for so long and until I’m able to find the time to type it out, it plagues me. And in the same vein, I don’t want to not do it right away while the idea is fresh as of course, it can be very fleeting and disappear just like the moment it sparked.

I try to set myself regular time in order to write (and I certainly will for nano) but other than that, I haven’t got anything in place yet. What do you do in order to alleviate this problem? Do you have a writing schedule? Do you work a 9-5 job so you’re able to structure writing time in? What about if you consider yourself to have a chaotic lifestyle, where does writing fit in then?

I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a comment