Writing is like the Gym

I forced myself to go to the gym this morning after a late night (and a takeaway) with the girls. Did I want to get up that early and go outside where it was slightly rainy and blustery? No. I did not. But I did it anyway. And after around forty-five minutes of gruelling sweat-inducing exercise, I’ve come out of it feeling rather uplifted and happy.

Of course, I know all that is to do with hormones being released and such like, but it’s still a nice feeling. I also got the chance to snap a picture of a lovely rainbow too (just wish I’d had my Canon with me). I’m already planning my next trip to the gym which I tend to do just after I’ve gotten home from a visit there.

So in that same vein, I was thinking about writing. Sometimes as writers, we can have dry spells. I think it happens to most people: Writers Block. Those dreaded words. It’s awful when you’re in the midst of it. There’s nothing you can do, nothing seems to inspire and then one day, something might just click and you begin writing.

I find that if I’m writing regularly, it’s becomes a habit, a ritual maybe. Currently, I’ve just finished the proof of my novel and sent it back and I’m working on Nano prep for November but I’m not actually writing any fiction and you know what? I’m craving it. I want to be drawn into the fictional world and tell the stories that are there. And it’s a brilliant feeling.

I don’t want to start working on a big project with Nano looming and the possibility of a dystopian YA novel on the horizon, but there are other things I’m getting involved with. I’m trying to write a short story for an anthology (zombie related) and I’m also pushing my brain to think of ways to organise my novels and a way I can go back and edit them to make them publishable.

I guess what I’m saying, is that once you get started it’s certainly a lot easier!

Leave a Reply

