Writing Marathon?

I’ve been working on my new novel idea for a little while now. I’ve been trying to write some everyday in an attempt to keep it moving forward and not forgetting about it as I have so many other projects. I’m quite happy with the way I’ve managed to keep up with this so far (as well as brainstorming other ideas) as the only times I’ve finished a novel in a rapid time before is during the month of November and the notorious NaNoWriMo.

However, it almost seems like there’s this wall I hit evertime I write and I can’t quite understand it. I will write and find that I’m enjoying it but usually, once I’ve hit a chapter boundary, that’s it. I call it a night. I keep asking myself why but I can’t figure it out. It’s like I’m pre-programmed to stop after a certain amount as if continuing to write could be detrimental to my health. That’s ridiculous! I wonder if anyone else comes across this and if they do, how they bypass it.

I know different people write in different ways, some maybe bit like me in little sound bytes. I envy those who can sit and write for extended periods of time without breaking a sweat. A friend of mine, Charmaine Pauls, just posted on her timeline that she has been writing nine hours a day for seven days! I’m so jealous, I wish I could do that.

Does anyone else have similar or different techniques? When you’re trying to get in the writing zone, how do you prepare? Do you have background noise? Do you have a particular space to write? I’d love to hear about it!

You can check out Charmaine’s facebook page here:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Charmaine-Pauls/

Or her blog here:

More shorts coming your way

 

 

4 Comments

  1. I run into this same thing quite often myself. For this reason, I always have two projects going at once. I hit the wall and can’t do anymore, but for me, it’s on that one project. It’s not writing in general that’s the problem, it’s that one story. When I hit the wall, I have given all I can to that set of characters and story. I feel if I push it I’m hurting them, so I move on to the next project for a bit. It keeps my mind fresh, and the stories are better for it.

    • I think that’s a really good idea. I do have another idea floating in my head but I haven’t had a chance to outline it yet. Perhaps I do that and then the prep is there ready for when this issue strikes again!

  2. That’s exactly how I go about things. I have my one main project and then a bunch of others. It keeps me excited abt what ever I’m working on at the time, and it clears my head from those stray ideas clogging up my progress on my main project.

    • I’ve been trying to get more organised lately and just went out and bought six box folders to store my longer works. That way I can move from one to another and know where I am (I don’t have that many current projects btw a lot of them are things I want to edit!)

Leave a Reply

