Inspiration

I find that a subject a lot of authors get asked about is their inspiration. What inspired them to write that book? Where did the idea come from? It makes me wonder about my own inspiration and how I come to write the things I do.

For me, and The Doors (the young adult novel due for publication in September 2014) it was a dream. Yeah, I know how cliche that sounds. It is very cliche, but it’s true. Saying that, I don’t think much of what I dreamed actually transpired into the novel itself.

All I remember about the dream now is seeing a huge set of mosaic doors and when I looked at them, I felt this sense of fear rolling through my body. When I got up the next morning and went to work, I got to thinking: why did those doors make me feel like that? There was something about them I just couldn’t put away. I couldn’t just leave it, my mind wouldn’t rest. I had to write about those doors. And so I did.

The first draft of the story was about twenty pages long. Not long at all. But I loved writing every minute of it. I had a few people look it over and with a few comments and suggestions (most of which in a pretty positive light) I extended the piece, editing more than once, in order to make the novel what it is today. I never thought I would be someone who could write a novel. Not Alice who writes short stories and sometimes dabbles in poetry. But I did it. I guess it goes to show what we can do if we put our minds to it.

Not all of my inspiration comes from dreams, saying that. Actually, not most of it. I do sometimes wake with snippets of something I have to scribble down but mostly it comes from the everyday. Conversations I hear, people I meet, the image of something. It can all spark something in my mind and once my mind begins working overtime, the story begins to form.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

Leave a Reply

