Novel Publication

I’m due to get my first young adult novel published later this year in September! It’s my first major publication deal and though I’ve had a few shorter things published (short stories and poems) I really feel like this might be my break. Of course, it’s just fab to be getting my novel out there and knowing that there are other people who would be interested in reading it, so that’s just brilliant in itself.

It’s the first full length book I’ve written in the young adult genre. Most of the things I’ve written in the past have certainly been shorter but also tended to focus around the genres of horror and the darkness. I find that it comes easily to me and I think it’s a lot to do with the authors I have always read, including the likes of Stephen King and Richard Laymon.

At the minute I’m waiting for the cover art to be created as well as an edit on the novel before I get the proof. I think this is quite a long process and I’m waiting on tender hooks until I get it back but until then I don’t have anything else I can tell you! I’ll keep you updated as and when I find things out.

In the mean time, I’ve been planning to start a new project. I have a few ideas floating around in my mind and sometimes they all converge and sometimes they separate, kinda like when you mix oil and water. Either way, I think I’ll be writing soon.

Although I like writing by the seat of my pants I find that I get lost with that sometimes so I think I’ll be doing some outlining before I tackle my next project. Wish me luck!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

